To blog, or not to blog?

Yesterday it was my turn to do the 10 minute spotlight at Bury Business Group. It’s not the sort of thing I particularly enjoy doing to be honest. While I might love a good old chat, standing up in front of a room of 30 plus people (even if I do know them all well) is a little daunting.

The other thing is that it can often be quite hard to know what to actually talk about. I’ve done the whole “Introduction to Lu” thing, and for the new members, or those who missed it last year I can’t help feel that’s what 121’s are for. I also talk about social media pretty much every week in my 60 seconds, so to extend that by a further nine minutes seemed a bit … well, boring and possibly predictable.

In the end I settled on providing a brief walk through of why blogging is important for your business. To be honest, content writing (in all its many forms) is probably my biggest passion. While I of course use social media in my personal life, I don’t “do” social media as a hobby per se. However, I do write. A lot. And when not writing I am thinking about writing. The act of sitting at my laptop and pouring out my heart and soul, my hopes and dreams and my inner most fears has probably saved me a small fortune in therapy bills.

However, I digress.

Personal blogging is one thing – it can be therapeutic. It can be amusing. It can also be a nice little revenue stream if you capture a particular market and find it possible to sell relevant advertising space. However, business blogging is fundamentally different.

With a business blog you are going to talk about a particular subject, obviously something directly linked to your business, product or service. Rather than just getting stuff out there the point of a business blog is to increase your online visibility. But how does that work exactly?

Given I’ve not actually had my first cup of coffee yet this morning I don’t want to go all technical on you, so here’s a really basic version of what happens when search engines get involved.

A search engine is there to provide information instantly (depending on your internet connection) to the person conducting the search. In order to do this a lot of preparation goes on first. Search engines send out their little bots to crawl the internet for information. When they land on a website they scour it for information. If they find the information to be relevant and well written (i.e. not just jam packed with keywords that are hard to read) it will index the page.

What this essentially means is that it will record the information and add the details of that page to its database. So when your target audience types in their search term, for Time Saving Heroes it might be “Why you should have a business blog” it can immediately return all the relevant results for that term. If you have done your job properly your relevant website page will be amongst those results, which means there’s a good chance your target audience will click on it.

The problem with websites is that you can only have so many pages on them. Well, let’s be honest, you could have as many as you want, but the more there are the more difficult it becomes for people to navigate around it so it becomes counterproductive. A better way to provide additional information in a clear and concise way is via a blog. Each individual blog post has the potential to become its own indexed page, and will lead people back to your website.

So there you have it, in a nutshell, the point behind business blogging. Next week I’ll be looking at the additional benefits blogging provides, so stay tuned!

In the mean time, if you want to chat about what blogging could do for your business, or how Time Saving Heroes can help, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us: 0161 883 2024

 

Leave a Reply

