The One With The Migraine

I honestly don’t know where this week has gone. Actually, I do – sort of. It was a blur of painkillers and hospital trips. After suffering for 9 days straight with the migraine from Hell, I finally decided to go to the doctor on Tuesday, who immediately panicked and sent me to hospital for an MRI.

After initial concerns over a potential brain bleed proved over-cautious, I was sent home with orders to rest. I confess, that didn’t happen. Thankfully though what started as a headache now seems to have turned in to an infected lymph node on my neck (tender, but manageable) and I am now able to function properly once again!

Hurrah!

While I am of course relieved that I don’t have either meningitis or a subarachnoid haemorrhage, it has been quite frustrating not being able to work a full week. In fact, as I write this at 2pm on Friday I have only managed to clock up 22 hours of work since Monday morning. I feel like a positive part-timer!

That said, it has still been a productive week, so I perhaps shouldn’t complain too much. I have had two great 121’s which have been really thought provoking, and have opened up lines of potential collaboration which I am very excited about. Hopefully more on that in the next few weeks.

One thing I love most about what I do is that I never know what’s going to come through in terms of work from one day to the next. This week I have had a whole host of audio transcription come through, which has really kept me busy. It’s one thing that I find really fascinating, maybe because it satisfies my need to be nosey as I listen in to what other people do.

This week I have transcribed three grievance procedures, one appeal, a round table discussion on electric vehicles and various interviews with bell ringers in Surrey. Like I said, you just never know what’s going to come in – or what you might learn in the process. For example, I now know bell ringers are actually called campanologists and I have found out lots about the SS Princess Alice disaster in 1878.

My biggest challenge

I have a wonderful client who runs a performing arts academy in Bury, and we have been working together for a little over two years now. I help her out in a variety of ways including social media and every day to-do lists. However, last night she threw a new challenge at me, which at first I confess I felt a little iffy about accepting.

On Sunday her kids will be performing a panto, which they have been working on since September. Realising a scene and costume change was going to take longer than originally anticipated, I was called upon to write a bit of filler script.

“What, you’re a writer, aren’t you?”

Eeeek. No pressure.

With a quick run through of what the panto was about (it’s a mash-up, rather than one particular show), what was happening and what was actually needed I armed myself with the necessary props for writing: Pen, paper and a hazelnut latte.

I am pleased to say one hour later I had six verses of Panto-rhyme (I can hear you saying “oh no you didn’t”, but I assure you, oh yes I did!). Hopefully a group of five and seven year olds will be able to learn this last minute addition in time for the opening curtain on Sunday.

My highlight

At the end of last year I started working with a new client, and one of our challenges was to get them running their own social media accounts. This week they went solo, and it’s been really great seeing them not only start posting their own content, but also getting interaction from their audience.

I’m hopeful making such a positive start will give them the confidence to carry on, but either way, I will be touching base with them next week for an update. I love seeing people learn something new, and do it for themselves (where they can).

 

Hope you have all had a great week, and I will see you again on Monday!

Leave a Reply

